Cy Pres Awards

The National Consumer Law Center welcomes "cy pres" awards to support our work for low-income and vulnerable people. Cy pres awards allow unclaimed settlement funds from class action lawsuits to be distributed to organizations that further the interests of the underlying class members. Class counsel often has the ability to nominate charitable organizations like NCLC to receive these funds.

NCLC is a frequent recipient of cy pres awards. Because of the expertise we bring to bear in promoting justice at both the national and state levels, we have received more than 300 awards over the past 15 years. Our work covers a broad range of issues, including consumer protection, unfair and deceptive acts and practices, privacy rights, civil rights, and employment. We work with nonprofit and legal services organizations, private attorneys, policymakers, and federal and state government and courts across the nation.

If you have any questions about whether NCLC might be appropriate for cy pres in a particular case, please contact This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it at 617-542-8010.

Cy Pres Awards

Since August 2013, NCLC has received cy pres awards in cases involving the following attorneys :

Jason G. Andrew, Michael A. Berg and Kevin B. Love

Marc Stanley

Jeffrey Berns

Kai Richter

Stephen R. Felson, Judith B. Goldstein, Edward A. Icove and Rachel K. Robinson

Robert Arns and Kevin Osborne

 Keith Verges

Niall P. McCarthy

Timothy G. Blood, Leslie E. Hurst, Thomas J. O'Reardon,  Mark J. Dearborn, Stuart Davidson & Cullin A. O'Brien


Thank you for your support!