Cy Pres Awards

The National Consumer Law Center welcomes "cy pres" awards to support our work for low-income and vulnerable people. Cy pres awards allow unclaimed settlement funds from class action lawsuits to be distributed to organizations that further the interests of the underlying class members. Class counsel often has the ability to nominate charitable organizations like NCLC to receive these funds.

NCLC is a frequent recipient of cy pres awards. Because of the expertise we bring to bear in promoting justice at both the national and state levels, we have received more than 300 awards over the past 15 years. Our work covers a broad range of issues, including consumer protection, unfair and deceptive acts and practices, privacy rights, civil rights, and employment. We work with nonprofit and legal services organizations, private attorneys, policymakers, and federal and state government and courts across the nation.

If you have any questions about whether NCLC might be appropriate for cy pres in a particular case, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. at 617-542-8010.

Since February 2014, NCLC has received cy pres awards in cases involving the following attorneys:

Niall P. McCarthy

Timothy G. Blood, Leslie E. Hurst, Thomas J. O'Reardon,  Mark J. Dearborn, Stuart Davidson & Cullin A. O'Brien

David M. Arbogast, Jeffrey Berns, Mark R. Cuker, J. Mark Moore, Christoper A. Seeger & Gerson H. Smoger

Jason Leviton & Tom Urmy

Alice McInerney

Rand Bragg, Pamela Car & Bill Reinbrecht

Joanne Faulkner, Francis & Mailman, PC & Donovan Axler LLC

Jay Edelson, Rafey S. Balabanian, Benjamin H. Richman & Chandler R. Givens  

Brian Bromberg, Kenneth Hiller, Seth Andrews, Michael Litrownik & Jonathan Miller

Andrew Neuhauser and Advocates for Basic Legal Equlity
Andrew Thomasson

Thank you for your support!