Countryman Award

Now accepting nominations for the 2015 Countryman Award winner!

Please send a complete nomination to Lauren Mahoney at lmahoney at

Nominating materials will need to include:

  1. Candidate's resume/CV

  2. A 1-2 page description of the work which qualifies for the award

  3. Optional: one or more letters of reference from those familiar with the candidate's work

  4. Optional: Anything else you think relevant, convincing, and compelling

Please limit your nomination to 8 pages.

The winning candidate is chosen by a committee of NCLC's Board of Directors consisting of attorneys and low-income clients. They may not be as familiar with the consumer law community as you are - so you'll need to build a short but compelling case for your nominee. The deadline for completed nominations is September 24, 2015. Please email all completed nominations in PDF to lmahoney at

Each year NCLC presents the Vern Countryman Consumer Law Award to a legal services or other public interest attorney whose special contributions to the practice of consumer law have strengthened and affirmed the rights of low-income Americans.

Since the first award was presented in 1990 to Henry J. Sommer for his leadership in promoting the field of consumer law, the Vern Countryman Award has quickly become the top honor for consumer attorneys with 15 or more years of experience. We are most proud to know these outstanding advocates and applaud their efforts on behalf of low-income consumers. Winners include some of the most highly regarded consumer advocates in the country:

Dale Irwin, 2014
Richard N. Feferman, 2013 
David Leen, 2012
Carlene McNulty, 2011


O. Randolph Bragg, 2010
Michael D. Donovan, 2009
Bernard E. Brown, 2008
Mallam J. Maynard, 2007
F. Paul Bland, Jr., 2006
Irv Ackelsberg, 2005
Gail Hillebrand, 2004
Dan Hedges, 2003
Joanne Faulkner, 2002
Lynn Drysdale, 2001
Richard Rubin, 2000


Kathleen Keest, 1999
Alan Alop, 1998
David Ramp, 1997
Elizabeth Imholz, 1996
James Sturdevant, 1995
Patricia Sturdevant, 1995
Michael Ferry, 1994
William Brennan, 1993
Carolyn Carter, 1992
Margot Freeman Saunders, 1991
Henry Sommer, 1990